Transition Expedition

Do you remember the first time you had to get on the bike and cycle without any help from dad?

Do you remember your first day at school?

Do you remember the first time you moved away from home for varsity or a job?

Perhaps these memories have much in common for you? The reality is that all these events take us from one place to another.

From fear to confidence, from anxiousness to excitement, from the unknown to the ‘been-there-done-that’. A transition occurs, a mental shift takes place.

In life we experience transitions, mentally, physically and emotionally. These are important events and/or seasons in our life and making the most of each is critical. How can you make the most of the transitions in your life?

I want to share on a transition in my life. A career event and the lessons I learned from it.

Know where you are heading

Growing up I always aspired to be a structural engineering designer. After school, I started the journey towards realising this goal and a few years into my career I joined a bridge design office. I thought this was it, I’ve reached my dream job and this is where I would settle. A few years into this job I realised that I was not playing to my strengths and the design office arena (although being part of a great team) did not fit my purpose.

I knew I had to make a change, but the finer details were all but a blur. I evaluated my experience, the career options in my field and a position in which I would be playing to my strengths.

After a few months of reading, research and speaking to some wiser people I noticed the field of Project Management would be a good fit. It met the core criteria of my future work aspirations and I knew this would be the way forward.

Define your purpose, direction and go for it.

Be Intentional and Be Patient

In my mind, it was a lot easier than it would be in reality. Changing departments within my company would prove much harder than I had planned it to be. I knew that if I wanted to make the move I would have to be intentional in becoming familiar with my future department’s people and let them know I’m preparing for the call to switch over.

The cafeteria became my network room and intentionally getting to know the executive project managers was my goal.  At the time I was working towards obtaining a project management certification. Updating them on my learning experience and inquiring possible opportunities became part of the regular communication. Eventually after more than a year the door to move departments opened and the project manager journey started.

Patient intentionality is the recipe for success.

Finish Strong

The toughest thing you will have to do when you have set your vision on another target is to finish strong in your current position.

The questions you must answer; What do I want to be remembered for when I leave here? What is my legacy? Your current position is your most important position, do not lose sight this.

“Keep your eyes on the stars, and your feet on the ground” -Theodore Roosevelt-

God bless,

JP

Leave a Reply

